Skip to main content

Working with Catalog

With Catalog, you get direct access to the approved packages present in the Projects of your group. Viewing and downloading from Catalog is available to all users in a Portal instance, regardless of their user role. Populating, managing, and unpublishing packages require specific roles, as noted below.

From the Catalog page, you can do the following:

Populate Catalogโ€‹

Who can do this: Org Admin, Group Owner, Maintainer

There are two ways of populating the Group catalog:

Add existing packages to Catalogโ€‹

To publish a package to your Group catalog:

  • you must have the appropriate user role
  • the package must be uploaded beforehand to the Projects page for your group
  • at least one version in the package must be approved

Once all the prerequisites have been fulfilled, there will be a Publish to catalog button at the bottom of the software card on the Catalog page. Selecting the button adds the software to your Group catalog, where it's immediately ready for download.

Import new packages to Catalogโ€‹

To import a package to your Group catalog from ReversingLabs catalog, select the Import package button on the software card in ReversingLabs catalog. In the dialog that opens, you have to complete the following four steps:

  1. Project, where you can choose an existing project or create a new one. The project name is already pre-filled in order to stay consistent with ReversingLabs catalog. For a new project, you can also optionally add a short description
  2. Package, where you have to create a new package by choosing a package name and optionally adding a short description. Both are already pre-filled in order to stay consistent with ReversingLabs catalog
  3. Versions, where you can choose up to 16 versions to include in your new project for the Projects page. In this step, you can also:
    • see how much capacity remains after import
    • choose to be notified when all versions have been analyzed
    • choose to automatically import new versions of the software, so your developers always have access to the latest versions. If you select automatic import, once you reach the limit of 16 versions, the oldest versions in the project are replaced with the latest versions. To have the latest versions automatically added to the catalog, auto-approval needs to be enabled on your Portal instance
  4. Overview, where you can see the summary of your import options

You can switch back and forth between the steps by selecting them at the top of the dialog or selecting Previous. This allows you to change any information on the package and its versions up until you finish the import process.

When you import the package, it shows up both on the Projects page for your group and in the Group catalog.

Disabling automatic version import

You can prevent packages from being automatically imported and linked with ReversingLabs catalog in any of the following ways:

  • configure catalog import by deselecting the Automatically sync new versions option. This action can be reverted
  • detach the package from ReversingLabs Catalog. This is a permanent action and should be approached with caution

Download from Catalogโ€‹

Who can do this: All roles

Packages in the Catalog can be downloaded from two places:

In both places, clicking the Download button opens a dialog from which you can:

  • select Download to complete the download action
  • view and copy the SHA256 file hash
  • select Cancel to cancel the download action

Note that this downloads the latest approved version of the software. If you want to download another approved version, you can do so from the package details page by opening the dropdown next to the Download button.

Manage catalog entriesโ€‹

Managing catalog entries is possible from the package details page.

Select Manage versions in the page navbar to directly access the page for the package under Projects. If you have the appropriate role, from there you can:

Unpublish from Catalogโ€‹

Who can do this: Org Admin, Group Owner, Maintainer

You can unpublish a package from the catalog at any time.

If the package is already in the catalog, there's an Unpublish from catalog button at the top of the Package details page. Clicking the button removes the package from your Group catalog, making it no longer available for download.

The package can be added to the catalog again later.